Educational Outcomes

Wheaton’s MFT degree program strives to equip the whole person by offering a unique blend of systemic education, clinical training/supervision, personal and professional development, and spiritual growth, all within a cohort model. Relationship is at the heart of all we do, as we believe it is within the context of relationship that we both change and are changed. — Dr. David Van Dyke, Ph.D., Marriage and Family Therapy Program Director

Educational Outcomes

The Wheaton MFT Program has four main outcomes (Program Goals), which correlate with our Student Learning Outcomes (SLOs), align with our mission statement, and were developed from the Professional Marriage and Family Therapy Principles (PMFTPs). The PMFTPs informing our program include the Marriage and Family Therapy Educational Guidelines and Core Competencies as developed by the American Association for Marriage and Family Therapy (AAMFT), the AAMFT Code of Ethics, and the laws and regulations of the Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation (IDFPR).

Program Goals 

The Wheaton MFT Program has four Program Goals, which convey our overarching vision for our program and correlate with our Student Learning Outcomes (SLOs).

The Program Goals are as follow:

  • Program Goal 1: Systemic Knowledge, Ethics, and Research: Students and graduates will gain knowledge of systemic assessment, conceptualization, and intervention skills grounded in MFT theory, current research, and ethics (SLO1, SLO2, SLO3).
  • Program Goal 2: Clinical Practice and Diversity: Students and graduates will be equipped as clinically competent individuals who systemically conceptualize, plan, and implement ethical intervention in their treatment of individuals, couples, families, and groups (SLO4, SLO5, SLO6).
  • Program Goal 3: Relational Knowledge in Practice: Students and graduates will develop as relationally competent individuals who demonstrate self-awareness regarding emotions, communication, and contexts as they impact themselves and others (SLO7, SLO8, SLO9). 
  • Program Goal 4: Faith Knowledge: Students and graduates will possess Christian distinctiveness in their ability to integrate systemic thinking with Christianity (SLO10). 

Student Learning Outcomes (SLOs)

The Wheaton MFT Program’s Student Learning Outcomes (SLOs) are based in the program’s and college’s missions and are organized around equipping students who are clinically competent, have a holistic view of growth within the context of relationship both personally and professionally, care for the underserved, and understand the intersection of faith and systemic thought.

The SLOs are as follow:

  • SLO1: Students and graduates will demonstrate knowledge of systemic approaches.
  • SLO2: Students and graduates will demonstrate knowledge of the AAMFT Code of Ethics.
  • SLO3: Students and graduates will demonstrate ability to evaluate and apply research.
  • SLO4: Students will demonstrate ethical treatment of clients and client systems.
  • SLO5: Students will demonstrate sensitivity and respect regarding diversity to those on the margins.
  • SLO6: Students will demonstrate ability to intervene systemically with client populations.
  • SLO7: Students will demonstrate emotional and relational maturity with peers and authorities, and will be capable of exploring how personal upbringing affects present functioning. 
  • SLO8: Students will demonstrate professionalism in interactions with peers, clients, and faculty in clinical settings.
  • SLO 9: Students will integrate biblical and theological knowledge and professional ethics with systemic theory. 

State Licensing Requirements

In addition to meeting the above goals, the program is designed to meet Illinois state licensing requirements. The Wheaton College M.A. in MFT also meets both the educational and clinical requirements for licensure in the following U.S. states: 

  • Alabama
  • Arizona
  • Colorado
  • Illinois
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Minnesota
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • New Jersey
  • New York
  • Ohio
  • Oregon
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Vermont
  • Washington
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming