Inactive - Faculty LMS Transition Committee

The Faculty Learning Management System (LMS) Transition Committee at Wheaton College provides oversight and sets priorities for the development and implementation of the College’s LMS, Schoology.

The LMS Transition Committee is a Technology @ Wheaton advisory committee and is an ad hoc committee of the Technology and Information Resources (TIR) subcommittee.


This committee is made up of faculty who tend to be early adopters of technology who can integrate it appropriately in their classes. There are representative faculty at large and from the TIR committee, the library, Christ at the Core initiative and online learning. Committee is chaired by the LMS Project Manager.


To provide direct faculty input into the Schoology launch so that it meets the College’s pedagogical needs and is ultimately used by most faculty.


  • Approve implementation project plan
  • Review and approve general course templates
  • Address course migration concerns for faculty
  • Review and provide feedback to the Academic and Institutional Technology (AIT) implementation team on roles, permissions, and third party integration
  • Approve professional development materials and timelines

Responsibilities of a Committee Member

  • Commit to using Schoology in their courses
  • Listen to other faculty in a representative role through this period of transition
  • Represent a wide range of faculty voices and opinions in recommending the process of professional development
  • Confer with selected AIT staff regarding decisions related to pedagogy and faculty interests in the implementation of Schoology
  • Actively promote the use of Schoology and the features found valuable

Operating Principles

  • Meet monthly
  • Respond to email within 24 hours

Members for Fiscal Year 2017

  • Carlos Astorga, Instructional Systems Specialist, Project Manager, Chair
  • Pam Barger, Faculty, Intercultural Studies
  • Jim Beitler, Faculty, English
  • Melody David, Staff, Chemistry
  • Pam Davis, Faculty, Psychology
  • Julie Giles, Manager of Course Development and Services, AIT
  • Terry Huttenlock, Library*
  • Mark Jonas, Faculty, Education
  • Kathleen Kastner, Faculty, Conservatory
  • David Kletzing, Instructional Developer, AIT
  • Sarah Miglio, Provost’s Office
  • Scott Moreau, Faculty, Intercultural Studies*
  • A.J. Poelarends, Faculty, Physics and Astronomy
  • Rodney Scott, Faculty, Biology
  • JR Smith, Director of Teaching, Learning, and Research, AIT
  • Wendy Woodward, Chief Information Officer*
  • Laura Yoder, Faculty, Human Needs and Global Resources