Whitney Elected Zone 9 Councilor

Dr. Heather M. Whitney elected SPS Zone 9 Councilor 

Grid VariantAssociate Professor of Physics Dr. Heather M. Whitney has been elected as Zone 9 Councilor for the Society of Physics Students (SPS) national organization. Starting June 1, 2020, she will serve a three-year term as part of the SPS National Council.

 “I’m looking forward to the opportunity to serve as Zone 9 Councilor,” said Dr. Whitney. “As the Faculty Advisor for the Wheaton College Chapter of SPS, I have been pleased to foster growth in our participation in SPS National because it helps our students build their identity in physics and engineering. For example, our department provides membership in SPS National to all of our physics and engineering students, which also includes membership in a student’s choice of an associated professional society, such as the American Physical Society. This has given our students access to scholarships and resources that enhance their Christian liberal arts education and connects them to the world of physics and engineering at large. Serving on the SPS National Council will be an opportunity for me to serve all the chapters in our zone by facilitating zone meetings and strong engagement with the SPS organization.”

Ahnika Boring (Physics ’22), President of the Wheaton College Chapter of SPS for 2020-2021, said "I am thrilled for Dr. Whitney, and am looking forward to the insight and opportunities that her Zone Councilor experience will bring to our chapter. Over the past few years there has been a growing desire within Wheaton College's SPS to build stronger relationships with other nearby SPS chapters. Especially with the challenges we face from the coronavirus, those connections and support are crucial as we strive for healthy communities in our respective physics departments. I am eager to see how the SPS Zone 9 community will evolve and strengthen under Dr. Whitney's leadership."