Campus Facilities

Offices, classrooms, and laboratories of the geology program are located in the Meyer Science Center and contain all the resources necessary for instruction and basic research.

Meyer Science Center at Wheaton College IL


Analytical instrumentation includes

  • Frantz electromagnetic separator
  • Student and research petrographic microscopes
  • Rigaku Miniflex 600 X-ray diffractometer
  • Rigaku NEX energy dispersive X-ray fluorescence spectrometer (EDXRF)
  • Cathodoluminoscope
  • Raman spectrometer
  • Multi-channel exploration seismograph
  • Earthquake seismology base station
  • Elementary resistivity unit

Other facilities and equipment include

  • Rock preparation lab with saws and polishing equipment
  • Water, air, and sedimentation sampling devices
  • Stream flow meters
  • Rock/mineral/fossil reference collection and public exhibits
  • The Perry Mastodon exhibit
  • Student research and study space
  • Geographic Information System (GIS) computer lab
  • Table top hydrodynamic flume
  • Emriver Em2 stream table
  • Ro-Tap sediment sieve shaker
  • LS-100 mud rotary drill rig

Wheaton College Science Station

Students at Wheaton College Black Hills Science Station

The Wheaton College Science Station, located in the Black Hills of South Dakota, provides the geology program with an excellent facility to further enhance instruction and research. The unique offerings of the Science Station facility include:

  • 40+ acre park-like campus adjacent to National Forest properties and Rapid Creek with student housing, dining hall, lodge, and classroom buildings
  • Geology lab with rock and mineral reference collection from the Black Hills region
  • Black Hills region features Cordilleran stratigraphy and structures, extensive Precambrian terranes, and rich paleontology
  • Proximity to classic geological sites including Devils Tower, Homestake Gold Mine, and Mount Rushmore
  • Field trips to famous geologic sites in Colorado, Wyoming, and Montana such as the Grand Tetons, Yellowstone National Park, the Beartooth Mountains, and the Bighorn Mountains