Marion E Wade Center Logo (without the)

Reading Groups

Reading at the Wade

Orthodoxy by G.K. ChestertonSaturday mornings, 10-11 a.m. (January 12-May 4)

The Saturday morning book discussion group resumes on January 12 and runs through May 4, 2019. The group will meet at the Wade Center each Saturday from 10 to 11 a.m., led by Dr. Rolland Hein, Professor of English Emeritus at Wheaton College.

Three books will be discussed this term

In Orthodoxy G.K. Chesterton presents his own provocative defense for his Christian faith, affirming its indispensable relation to Fairyland, which, he asserts “is nothing but the sunny country of common sense.”

All Hallow’s Eve is Charles Williams’s final fantasy novel and the only one that was read to the Inklings. In the story, two girls are accidentally killed and find themselves in a no-man’s land between heaven and hell. The unfolding plot shows them making choices and having certain interactions with people on earth that seal their final destinies. As we meet a prophet who is an anti-Christ and a painter who in his work captures profound spiritual truths, we come to fuller understanding of the nature of the City of the Redeemed. The novel offers definitive expression to Williams’s characteristic teachings on co-inherence, exchange, and the thoroughly sacramental nature of life.

In What’s Mine’s Mine George MacDonald takes us into northern Scotland, where the invasion of English money and privileged attitudes works agonizing hardship upon native Highlanders. Thematically, the story highlights the deleterious effects upon the human spirit caused by a love of money, and of a doctrinally twisted Christianity.

The books will be available in the Wade's Book Shop.

  • RSVP Here
  • Syllabus of readings
  • Recordings of the Wade Center's Saturday morning reading group discussions are free and available for download.

Reading groups are free and open to anyone who would like to participate, but sign-up is appreciated due to space considerations. For questions or more information, contact the Wade Center front desk at 630.752.5908 or at


That Hideous Strength Book Discussion Group

That Hideous Strength book coverMonday evenings, 7-8 p.m. (April 29-May 20)

That Hideous Strength, published in 1945, is the third and final book in C.S. Lewis's Ransom Trilogy. Unlike the other books in the trilogy, That Hideous Strength is not set on another planet, but among ordinary, earthly surroundings. Reviewers were not fond of Lewis’s mix of the realistic and supernatural elements in this work, but Lewis liked it and felt it was a realistic interpretation of our struggle as earthly beings with a heavenly home. Dr. Jay Moses, pastor of Hope Presbyterian Church in Wheaton, and Dr. David C. Downing, co-director of the Wade Center, will lead the discussion.

The discussion groups will be held in the Marion E. Wade Center's classroom, from 7-8 p.m. Books are available for purchase in the Wade Center Bookshop. The groups are free and open to the public. Advance registration is appreciated. For more information contact the Wade Center at 630.752.5908 or

The reading assignments for the four weeks are:

April 29: Just Below The Surface: The Scent of Charles Williams (Chs. 1-5)
May 6: The Game Unveiled (Chs. 6-9)
May 13: Incarnation, Transposition and the Dove (Chs. 10-13)
May 20: The Great Dance and That Great Day (Chs. 14-17)