Wheaton College Color Logo



Meet the Seven Authors featured at the Wade Center

Seven AuthorsThe Marion E. Wade Center at Wheaton College is a tribute to the importance of the literary, historical, and Christian heritage of these writers. Together, these seven authors form a school of thought. All seven shared a common nationality. They all valued the life of the mind and the imagination. Each shared Christian convictions and wrote on Christian themes. Through service to those who use its resources and through the words of its seven authors, the Wade Center strives to continue their legacy and influence the world around it.

J.R.R. Tolkien image © Douglas Gilbert.
All other images property of the Wade Center.

C.S. Lewis

November 29, 1898 – November 22, 1963


J.R.R. Tolkien

January 3, 1892 – September 2, 1973


Dorothy L. Sayers

June 13, 1893 – December 17, 1957


George MacDonald

December 10, 1824 – September 18, 1905


G.K. Chesterton

May 29, 1874 – June 14, 1936


Owen Barfield

November 9, 1898 – December 14, 1997


Charles Williams

September 20, 1886 – May 15, 1945